Touched by a ‘Stranger’

27 07 2011

Have you ever been so touched by a stranger’s story that it actually changed your life?  That is what happened to me on Memorial Day weekend.  I was inside hanging out at our family’s cabin chillin’ with the monitor while Tucker Tot was taking a nap.  I was kinda bored and started surfing my Facebook page to see what others were up to.  One my good friends had posted a link to a blog asking for prayers for a local family, one of their 6 month old triplets was fighting for his life at Children’s Hospital of WI.  The picture of the baby, I thought, resembled Tucker Tot and I clicked through.  That action was the most life changing moment of motherhood I’ve had yet. (well since actually becoming a mother)

I clicked through to  http://bissingfamily.com and I began reading a story that I couldn’t break away from.  Owen Bissing, the middle of the 6 month old Bissing Triplets, was put down to bed after cooing at his loved ones and barely finishing his bottle, happy and content.  What happens next is every mother’s nightmare…Owen was found unresponsive in his crib, his mother, Mel began CPR until the paramedics arrived.  Owen fought for his life for 5 long days with the strength of a warrior, but ended is journey on earth on May 26, 2010 surrounded by his family.

Although this story is so sad and heartbreaking, yes when you read Mel’s blog you will cry, I did and still do sometimes – this story is the most uplifting and inspirational story I’ve ever heard.  Mel is moving through her grief with so much faith and warrior strength.  I strive to be a Christian warrior like she is.  They are in the first stages of creating a memorial fund for Owen, and the spirit behind it is living in the 2%.  Owen had a 2% chance of survival, although he didn’t make it, everyone who has been touched by this story can live in the 2% in honor of Owen.  The good that that little baby has spread to my family is immeasurable.  I have become a totally new mother, finding the appreciation in the middle of night when Tucker Tot wakes up and I just want to sleep, or when he’s whiny because his teeth hurt and there is nothing more I can do to help, or when I think things are just plain rough…I think of Owen.

Owen has helped me to slow down and everyday Thank God for my blessings.  He’s made me realize that Tucker Tot is a gift from God and my time with him is precious and fragile.  I am more grateful and conscious of bedtime prayers and quality time as a family.  Owen’s color was orange and we bought t-shirts in memory of Owen. OWENGE:  The Color of A Warrior they say.  So true it is.  Wearing it makes me feel protected and stronger and calmer.  After I began reading Mel’s blog, I was moved, and I prayed to God, “how can I help this family?  I know there is something that I can do, please help me help them.”  I opened my eyes to His signs.  The first was a flyer for the Al’s Run & Walk for CHW.  I fb’ed Mel and asked if I could organize a team and posted it on the Orange For Owen fb fanpage and said anyone who wants to co-captain I’d love the help.  One of Mel’s friends stepped right up.  We’re the OWENGE Warrior Walkers…come join us on Sept. 17, 2011 we’ll be the OWENge’est’ crowd out there!  www.alsrun.org (password: OwenBissing)  Join our team the more the merrier!!

I knew I could do more, so after the great success of the Pizzeria Piccolia Fundraiser I emailed Bob & Vickie from Bilda’s Friess Lake Pub, and they offered a date with a band to do a fundraiser for the Owenge Warrior Fund.  I’m so excited for this!  We are working hard to organize a GREAT event that will be super fun for individuals and families alike.  I am sad that I am getting to know Mel through her tragedy, but grateful that God brought us together.  She is a super fun girl, with a great outlook, strong faith, and makes great cake pops!  God is great and although we will never understand his ‘whys’ I marvel in His workings.  Maybe the mercies of this life are really blessings in disguise.

Dear Tucker Tot,
 
I am so grateful that I am getting to know Mel and her family.  They have inspired me to be a better mom to you.  It used to be so easy to loose my cool and need a break, but now, I’m just thankful for every moment that I get with you.  Don’t get me wrong, I have bad days like everyone else, but on those days we’re decked out in our owenge – to remind us that this moment is precious.  I hope that our lives take the normal course and that you and your unmade unborn brother or sister bury us…the end of everyone’s life on earth is inevitable.  I pray that your dad and I will be great teachers of faith to you.  It is my mission to make sure that you know how much you are loved by your family and most of all by God.  You are his child and He holds you in His hands while we hold you in our arms.  I love you more everyday, and will forever and ever.  You are fearfully and wonderfully made by God, and I am thankful and grateful that He trusted your dad and me to be your parents.  We will do everything that we can to make you into a wonderful Christian man and enjoy every second we get with you.  We know that you can’t appreciate the good days if you don’t have bad ones to know how good you have it!  I love you with all my heart. 
 
love,
mom
Actions

Information

4 responses

20 09 2012
My UNGLUED Saturday – all dressed in OWENge « Life is Good as a gitter

[…] UNGLUED Saturday – all dressed in OWENge 20 09 2012 When I wear OWENGE I have always felt like I was wearing a coat of armor.  And this weekend was no different, but I […]

23 12 2011
Tucker’s 1st Birthday Party « Life is Good as a gitter

[…] with how it turned out.  The obvious color scheme was blue (sky) and green (grass) and I chose owenge as the accent color.  So in the mail they went and planning a party for the weekend before […]

2 11 2011
30 Day Giving Challenge – Day 2 « Life is Good as a gitter

[…] ever buy.  She has given a lot to a lot of people through her writing while she tries to find a new normal in her life.  So tonight, time is what I give to my friend Mel. Have you joined the Challenge?  […]

22 09 2011
Jake Appleton

My wife and I might not agree on everything, but one thing we will always agree on is to support Mel, Doug, and their children. Love that family like my own.

let me know what you think...

