Where I come from…

29 08 2011

The year I was born was a really tough year for my family.  My papa (mom’s dad) wasn’t feeling too good and he went to the doctor to just get things checked out.  They open him up and told my family that it didn’t look good.  He was diagnosed with pancreatic cancer and was gone 6 weeks later in October of 1981.  I was born in December, and that January was the coldest winter to date in WI.  I was my giea’s (grandma) lifeline – and we’ve had an incredible relationship ever since.

I grew up needing for nothing, and always wanting for things, but now as a parent myself, I appreciate how my parents never gave the three of us everything we wanted…they made us earn it.  Let me introduce my family to you:

My mom is the most amazing woman ever!  I can’t even begin to explain the impact and significance she has on my life.  She is a strong woman of faith, leadership, dignity, generosity, and best of all she has had a blast doing it.  She is the kind of role model I would be proud to be just like as I mature, she is my favorite woman in the world.  Words can’t express the gratitude and admiration that I have for my mom.  She knows me so well and can just tell when I need her, she’s always just a phone call away.  She is amazing with Tucker – grandmother’hood’ fits so well on her!

My dad is inspiring.  He is a pillar of strength for our family, a man rooted solidly in God’s word, he is wise, hardworking, has rock solid ethics, and leads by example.  I strive to life up to his expectations every day.  He is a wonderful business leader, he is so understanding and patient (and yes he did need that living with my mom sister and I).  I have so much respect, admiration and love for him I can’t even tell you.  My dad is such a different grandpa than I thought he would be, he’s so hands on with Tucker…I LOVE to watch him interact with Tucker, he’ll tell him about all the things at the house and was so excited to be the one to show Tucker the lake our family cottage is on up north, although he was only a few months old and didn’t quite get it, but grandpa will surely be the first one to take Tucker fishing and show him the beauty of the outdoors.

My brother is so generous, adventurous, best of intention-full, loving guy you will ever meet.  We were not close growing up, all I wanted to do was be with the big kids and all he wanted was for me to disappear…but as we got older we understood each other more and the closer we got.  He is a rock and I know that I can rely on him for anything that I need.  He is so thoughtful, I love how often he thinks of us and he is constantly surprising our family with little ‘gifts’ (almost always these are gestures and deeds that you can’t buy) that make us smile.  When you need something, you can always count on him to help you out, I look forward to the day he finds someone to share his life with, I know she’s out there and when he finds her, she best know how lucky she is!!

My sister is my best friend.  We began as best friends, the day she was brought home I loved her the instant I met her.  I had to do everything for her whether she wanted it or not.  She knows me better than anyone in the world.  We speak our own language, (my husband HATES this) laugh at absolutely nothing, cry at sappy movies, and have come to really be the only people that understands what the other is going through.   My life is so enriched having a sister like mine.  She has just dove headfirst into auntie’hood’ and Tucker ADORES her!  His face lights up when she enters the room, you can tell that they will be the best of buds forever.  She is Tucker’s Godmother a title she wears so well!  A thousand times over, I have given thanks for my mom not listening to me when I was 5 and trading her in for a dog.  In December, 9 days before Tucker was born, LeAnne married Matt.  I don’t think that there could be a better fit for our family.  I know that it’s about LeAnne and Matt, but we’re such a tight knit group, that it’s important to us that our significant others fit in.  Matt is wonderful…he and Eric are the best of buds.  He’s always so helpful, courteous, and funny.  He’s always there with a zinger to make you bust a gut laughing!  The four of us are so close, and there’s something about being able to spend time with your best friend and have your significant others get along as well.  Eric and Matt have spend many of hours in the Man Cave, on the golf course and at Bilda’s.  I love how great he is with Tucker too, he makes the cutest voices and plays so well with him.  Tucker sequels with joy when he sees LeAnne and Matt, the sweetest sound to this mama’s ears!

So that is where I come from – my family “O”(original).

Dear Tucker,
You are so lucky to be part of this family, I know that I am so lucky to have grown up as a Berg.  I know this quote so well explains our family, “Our family is a circle of strength and love, with every birth and every union, the circle will grow, every joy shared adds more love, every crisis faced together, makes the circle stronger.” Your birth has been such a blessing to us, and we all continue to love you more everyday!  Thank you for being you! 
mom
Actions

Information

let me know what you think...

