Introducing The Gitters

29 08 2011

I have heard some wild and awful stories about people’s inlaws…but mine isn’t like that.  Blessed is barely a good enough phrase to describe how I feel about my inlaws.  They are amazing.  I am lucky enough to have 2 families that I adore, I cry with, I laugh with, and love more than life itself.  Let me introduce you to the Gitters…

Eric – oh, my husband.  He’s fantastic, wonderful, loving, caring, and at the same time challenging and a pain in my ass.  Bahaha!  I am so glad he is all those things, life would just be too boring if he was just wonderful all the time!  In some ways we are so alike we collide and cause major waves, but in so many others he’s the ying to my yang.  And over the years some of my yings have turned into yangs and vice versa.  Marrying Eric was the best day of my entire life, he’s my everything along with God, we’re complete.  Isn’t he so handsome!  He’s a spender, there’s no denying that and the statements he makes with his clothing is anything but subtle…but no one looks as good in American flag pants as Eric does!  He makes me laugh, consoles me when I cry, brightens up my dark days, and allows me to be me, even at concerts when he’s embarrassed to be around a fluttering, bouncing, horribly singing the wrong words me!

Jim & Bunny – what can I say about two of the most selfless people I have ever known?  They’re wonderful!  Jim and Bunny’s personalities are switched from my mom and dad’s.  My mom is the talky talkerton, bubbly, it’s all out on the table one, my dad on the other hand is much more reserved, quiet, and methodical.  Jim is a talky talkerton (he’s on my and Kristin’s side of the table) who is just a warm hearted soul, Bunny is a much more quiet woman, but when you get to know her watch out…she’s down right hysterical and the most generous woman you’ll ever meet.  They are devout Christians and raised their boys by leading through their examples.  They are so together and in love after almost 40 years, they are an inspiration to Eric and me.  They love their grandkids with everything they have, they rearrange their lives to help us with anything and everything we need.  They are actually our neighbors, yep, I could spit and Bunny would have to clean it off their kitchen windows, neighbors.  We seem them everyday that we and they are home.  And I love it.  I love that they treat me like I am part of their family, not just someone who was married in.  I could go on and on and on about how wonderful they are but I have more Gitters to rave about!

Jon & Kristin – When Eric and I first started dating Jon was a single, all out bachelor – beer and ketchup in the fridge – kinda guy.  He was a blast to hang out with at Badger games and events, and on an occasion or two I even tried to set him up on dates with people I knew.  He was a great sport about it.  When Jon met Kristin, it was love at first sight.  And I knew it was just from the way he talked about her.  Their relationship moved faster than my and Eric’s but it is a perfect love story!  They compliment each other better than almost any couple I know.  Jon is a black white numbers kinda guy, Kristin is a fly by the seat of her pants, lets just do it kinda girl.  Where one is weak the other strengthens them and they are just MFEO.  I love getting together with Kristin and the kids, they adore each other, except when Tucker pulls E’s hair.  It took her quite a few days to forgive him for that.  But who could blame the girl, my little man must learn the Jersey Shore Rule…never touch a woman’s hair!  I love them dearly and they are in the beginning stages of building on East side of the Gitter compound!  We are one big happy family, who can spit on each other’s windows (:

E – I honestly can’t remember what we did for entertainment before the kids!  She is one of the funniest, smartest, cutest, spunkiest little girls I have ever known.  O.M.Goodness I can’t even tell you how much this auntie loves her!  I remember the day she was born.  Kristin went in, not totally expecting to be induced that day but she sure was.  I hated my job at the time, and an excuse to call in sick was something I was always looking for.  So that I did and off to the hospital Jim and Bunny and I went.  It was one of the fastest days of my life.  Although I was reading one of the Twilight books to pass the time which all in its self passes time quickly.  We were out in the lobby of the hospital with Eric, and Kirstin’s mom, dad, sister, cousins, aunt and uncle and we heard the lullaby on the loud speaker (they play a lullaby everytime a baby is born) and we just knew it was our girl that time.  She was such a beautiful newborn, and a pretty content baby from the get-go.  She never stops making my belly hurt from laughing, and is the ham to end all hams, she and Tucker are going to get into some major trouble together, and be the best of buds!  She is also going to be a big sister in October or November this year.  She’s going to be amazing at that, she’s such a great big cousin!

Dear Tucker,
I can’t tell you what it’s like to grow up as a Gitter, but it’s a story that I’m living with you everyday!  I know that being part of this Gitter family has brought more blessings into my life than I could even begin to count.  I love being a Gitter.   This same quote makes me think of the Gitters too, “Our family is a circle of strength and love, with every birth and every union, the circle will grow, every joy shared adds more love, every crisis faced together, makes the circle stronger.”   We know have a crisis or two with your papa’s health, but he’s doing awesome now, and going through his illness has made each of us hold eachother closer and cherish every single second we get together.  I’m so glad that God brought your dad and I together so we could have you and share you with our amazing families!  We are so very blessed Tucker Tot!

mom

 
 
Actions

Information

2 responses

11 11 2011
30 Day Giving Challenge – Day 11 « Life is Good as a gitter

[…] donation could save a life, who knows it may even be your own.  I’m donating in honor of Jim. One of my personal […]

3 11 2011
30 Day Giving Challenge – Day 3 « Life is Good as a gitter

[…] got to have some time to chit chat.  I know that a lot of people don’t get along with their inlaws, but I adore mine.  I couldn’t have gotten a better 2nd family.  I enjoy our time with them […]

let me know what you think...

