The wedding and the snow

29 08 2011

I feel as though I should let you know that snow is a huge part of my life with Eric.  All of our big milestones involved it, but at the time of our wedding we had no idea the joy the snowy days would bring to our life.  Actually we thought being so late in February we might miss any snow.  But I’m getting ahead of myself.

The planning of our wedding was so much fun.  I did lots of research and price shopping and found pictures in magazines of things I wanted and learned how to scale it down to fit my budget.  We booked February 24th, 2007 at the Milwaukee Marriott West in Waukesha, WI.  I fell in LOVE with it the moment I saw it.  I couldn’t wait to walk through those doors as the Princess I knew I would be.  Eric and I got lots of unsolicited advice about the wedding and about marriage from everyone we knew and didn’t know, but some of the best:

  • “ask to have your food wrapped, you won’t eat it and you’ll be sorry you didn’t later” we did that, although it didn’t make it to our room it’s great advice none the less
  • “at the end of the day the most important thing is to be married, if everything else goes well it’s icing on the cake” – BEST advice we got, it made me a mellow and calm bride despite the chaos of the day
  • “what doesn’t get done by rehearsal dinner won’t get done, and you’re the only one who will notice.”  yep, so true.  But my mom did do some stuff Friday night that made a few great finishing touches.
  • “make sure to actually invite God to your wedding” I know this sounds weird, but I said a prayer inviting God to be at our wedding, I wanted to make sure that we began our life 3-fold, just because we got married at a Church to me wasn’t enough, I wanted God to know that we WANTED him there.

Rehearsal dinner was at my church and the dinner was catered in the fellowship hall, and followed by feet of snow pouring down.  I admit I was nervous about it, but nothing I could do but pray to God that everything could go on as planned.  I woke up the next morning to snow still falling, but we had to move and groove no time to think about the snow.  We got our hair done at Craig Burns Salon in Delafield, one of my bridesmaids worked there and they got all 7 of us beauties in at the same time.

From there we headed over to Mequon to Faces II salon where we got our make up done.  The owner does such an amazing job with make-up, she’s so uber talented!  From there we headed over to the church to get ready.

Before we knew it, we were being told to line up.  The snow continued throughout the service and ended just as we were ending the ceremony.  I can’t explain the confidence that I had walking down that aisle, no one was there but me, Eric, and God.  It was amazing.  We said our I do’s and walked back down the aisle Husband and Wife.  My life would never be the same again.  The snow let up for a bit and just as were sitting down for dinner all hell broke loose and you couldn’t see anything out the windows the snow was so thick and fast.  I had no idea how bad it was until the next morning when a friend had to help shovel our car out of it’s spot.  haha, the first of many snowy joyous days of the Gitters.  All and all it was the very best day of my life.  I can’t imagine anything going any differently, and all our friends and family got home safely some took longer than others, but it was amazing!

Dear Tucker,

Marrying your dad was the very best day of my life.  He is my very best friend, our day was magical being surrounded by all our family, friends, and God.  I pray that someday you will find a wonderful woman and your wedding will be as marvelous as ours was. I look forward to the day where I will get to dance with you at your wedding, and watch you stare into the eyes of a woman who loves you with all her being and you look back at her the same way.  It’s hard to fathom that you’ll ever be old enough to be getting married, since right now you just started crawling around, but the way the ladies flock to you in daycare I know that day will come fast.  For there will be a day I can no longer protect you when you’re on your own, I pray to God with all my heart that what I’ve taught you takes you far in life as the upstanding man I know you are capable of being.  I love you with all my heart Tucker Tot.

mom

Actions

Information

One response

18 11 2011
Planning the party of the year…literally…one year « Life is Good as a gitter

[…] the memory of the day with us forever.  It’s another great occasion for the Gitters…there is bound to be snow there…so if you’re one of the lucky 100 make sure you have a snow brush in your car! […]

let me know what you think...

