September 11, 2011

13 09 2011

Everyone has a story, where they were, what they were doing, where everyone that they loved were, I remember September 11, 2001 like it was yesterday.  I was in college at UWGB, just about to enter the cafeteria to get some delicious french toast breakfast and saw the live news coverage on a TV just outside the cafeteria when the second plane hit.  I was in awe along with a slew of my fellow students.  I went to work that day at the Weidner Center when I got a call from my brother, saying that my mom was on a flight heading to Washington DC with a group of local women.  They had not heard from her and planes are going down all over.  Fear gripped my chest, I was frozen.  I told him to call me with any news, hung up the phone, and immediately began bawling.  My boss, a typical man, was trying to console me, and allowed me to move to back away from the ticket window, and to breathe.

It was a few hours before I heard from my family.  A million thoughts ran through my head, “she’s heading to where the terriorists want to be, Milwaukee is such a remote place, why  not come from there?”  I prepared myself for the worst, but prayed, so hard for the best.  My dad called me, and said that my mom’s plane was making an emergency landing in Iowa.  The relief that overcame me, was more than I’d ever felt before. I am aware that someday I will have to go on without my mom, but I wasn’t ready September 11, 2001.  But will I ever be ready?  No, but that is something that isn’t my decision to make.  God makes those decisions.

The feeling of our country united in mourning the loss of 2,976 men, women, and children was unfathomable, especially after the rocky election just months earlier.  We were for that time not a country of Republicans, Democrats, and Independents, we were ONE NATION UNDER GOD.  What a thought, what a vision.  It’s what Martin Luther King, Jr. dreamed of and spoke of…our country united together not looking at race, religion, gender, politics – we were a grieving nation united in God’s bigger picture – Jesus replied, “You do not realize now what I am doing, but later you will understand.” – John 13:7  It’s hard to understand why things happen sometimes, but God has a plan and is in control.  What a difficult concept especially this day, but trust in God is all we have.

On September 11, 2001 I had no idea that I was alive when history was being made, and that day will be in Tucker’s high school history books.  I was old enough, 19, to grasp the horror, evilness, cruelty, and injustice, of the world that day.  Real life history, those pictures all over the news, I remember like it was yesterday being all over everything.  My college roomate and I both got extreme cases of the flu on September 16, 2001 and there wasn’t a single channel that was playing anything but coverage of the terrorists attacks and the recovery efforts.  History in the making, the world hasn’t been the same since, and I for one have no problem getting checked head to toe, stripped to the bones at the airport if it will prevent another tragic day like September 11, 2001 – after all if you have nothing to hide why all the fuss about being checked?

Dear Tucker,
 
Today 10 years ago was the saddest day America has faced in the history of our great nation.  It is a day that we remember the 2,976 men, women, and children who perished because of terrorists.  As I write this note to you, I am trying to find a way to sugar-coat or make what happened that day softer for you to hear, but the truth is there is no way to shield you from the evils of this world – especially the evils we faced on September 11, 2001.  As we watched the families see their loved ones names on the new memorial waterfalls, we could see that the pain of their losses was as fresh 10 years later as it was that day.  Evil is something that we cannot escape, but when faced with the perils of this world – please turn to God, pray for guidance and know that He will see you through.  When the bottom is hit, faith may seem like something that isn’t enough – it’s not a tangible thing that can physically wrap it’s arms around you and whisper that it’s going to be okay, but I promise you it is more than you can ever believe it to be.  God is a wonderful God and he loves you more than one in the entire world, even your dad and I.  We love you the most out of anyone on earth, and would lay down our lives for you, but your relationship with God must remain a pillar in your life.  Know that his ultimate plan will reveal itself when His time is right.  When you read about this day in your high school history books, I will tell you about what I saw, felt, and remember – and we will also pray for the grieving families and give thanks for the armed forces fighting against the evils in this world so evil cannot touch our lives in the same way again.  I love you Tucker James.
 
mom
Actions

Information

let me know what you think...

