30 Day Giving Challenge

1 11 2011

I am using my blog, and the three or four people who read it, to participate in the 30 Day Giving Challenge.  Giving is something that I strive to do everyday and teach my son through my and my husband’s actions.  I am joining this amazing effort to put thought into my giving, whatever it may be (money, time, skills, possessions) and do it in the glory of God.  This is simply a way for us to all encourage each other to give each day of November.   This has the opportunity to grow exponentially if we continue to tell others about The Story about the Ultimate Gift God gave each of us, His only Son who died for our Sins.

The story in Mark 12:43-44 has always caused me to stop, think and ponder about how much I give in His name.  “Calling his disciples to him, Jesus said, ‘I tell you the truth, this poor widow has put more into the treasury than all the others. They all gave out of their wealth; but she, out of her poverty, put in everything—all she had to live on.’ ”  I would love to walk to the gates of Heaven and say that I gave all I had in the Glory of God, but I know that I have not.  I pray that this challenge will open my heart to give more graciously, in whatever way the spirit calls me to give.

If you’re a blogger then I encourage you to also join the 30 Day Giving Challenge.  We’ll be doing it through November and I strive to continue it on far past November 30.  I will do a post everyday about what I am doing to give something in these 30 days.

Dear Tucker,
 
Being your mom has brought me closer to my faith than I could have ever imagined.  Because of the man I want you to grow up to be, I am striving to become the follower of Christ I want to be.  This challenge has spoken to my heart and I am doing this for me, to break the tight hold I have on things and give to those who’s blessings are not as abundant as ours.  I want you to know that time and possessions can be as or more beneficial as money when it comes to giving.  Some people do not need money as much as they need time and hand made things.  We can certainly do more, we can always do more in the name of the Lord, who has blessed us with so much. 
 
mom
Actions

Information

One response

1 11 2011
Andie @ Raising{Happy} Healthy Kids

We loved this challenge last year, it’s going to be great. Best of luck to you!

let me know what you think...

