Planning the party of the year…literally…one year

11 11 2011

Wow…I can’t believe that I have to be in high gear planning mode for Tucker’s First Birthday party?  It seems like yesterday that I was trying to squeeze me and my GIANT belly into the crowded family table at Uncle Bill and Aunt Sandy’s last Thanksgiving.  Where does the time go?  It is just moving so fast that I can barely comprehend how VERY different our new normal really is now.  So here I am almost 1 year later planning a birthday party for our baby boy.  I hmm haw’ed about a ‘theme’ for his party for a few months now, I have this weird pulling towards all things pirates when I think of Tucker, but it just didn’t seem right.  So I thought and thought and poof – an epiphany…duh a GOLF theme.  We have so many golf things already and it’s right up Eric’s ally…it’s something that we can enjoy doing together.

The first step to planning any party is to dig into all that Pintrest has to offer.  There are COUNTLESS examples of every different kind of party decor you could imagine.  I stumbled upon the perfect party golf theme that someone else threw for their 3 year old.  And away I went with my Photoshop CS5 to create cutie patootie invites, water bottle labels, photo banners, cake, food, ect.  It’s going to be a really fun day!

Here’s a little sneak peak into the theme of the day.  Owenge and golf.  Great combo!

Some friends are going to come over and help me make some cake pop golf balls (in vanilla, chocolate, and pumpkin) some other friends are going to make cookies and a small cake for Tucker.  I am right now thinking of ways to keep A MILLION kids occupied and out of things that don’t belong to us, as we cannot fit close to 100 people into our house, so we will be using an offsite location.

I am sure you’re thinking 100 people for a 1 year old party is insane, well you’re right, but mine and Eric’s family is HUGE, and we have some awesome friends who have been really important in our lives and Tucker’s first year.  It wouldn’t be a party without them.  It’ll be close to Christmas so maybe we will have less, but less or more,  I can’t wait.

My only real concern is the mood of my child.  I pray for a good day with him, 99.9% of them are good, but every so often he becomes overwhelmed and I am sure everyone will want to hold him and oochie coochie him, I have no issues with that but he may.  I hope no one is offended if he is standoffish.  But come what may I am going to do what my friend Mel has taught me, “Let go and let God” all I can do is pray and do my best to make sure that he has a low key few days and good naps the days leading up too and the day of the party.  Do what a I can and let Jesus Take the Wheel on the rest.

I feel fortunate that we will get to celebrate Tucker’s first birthday period.  With dozens of family and friends period.  Our blessings are overflowing, and we are so grateful for all that the Lord has blessed us with.  Maybe this is a little over the top, but I’m a realist, this party is for everyone else.  The only memories Tucker will have of this day will be from the pictures he sees.  So Eric and I are going to make it a great day for us all with the help of our family and friends.  And we will carry the memory of the day with us forever.  It’s another great occasion for the Gitters…there is bound to be snow there…so if you’re one of the lucky 100 make sure you have a snow brush in your car!

Dear Tucker,
 
You’re first birthday is fast approaching!  I am jumping the gun a little bit as you will only be 11 months on Sunday, but we have a lot to plan for!  Your dad and I are working hard to create a fun day for all your family and friends to celebrate the day that you arrived on this earth.  It was  a joyous day filled with wonderful people.  I can’t believe how much you’ve changed.  You make our lives richer everyday.  Being your mom is just the very best job, and getting to plan your party is just a great perk.  I love to plan parties, I can’t wait til we can look back at the day and tell you the story of Tucker Turning One.  Maybe I’ll make into a picture book that we can read every year on your birthday.  Well until you’re too old to think that’s cool.  Your dad and I have to find a place for you’re growth chart I bought for you, it’s almost time to make the first mark on it.  wow!  You’re only a baby for a little bit more.  I love you and all the gifts you have given me. 
 
mom
Actions

Information

One response

22 11 2011
Whada Weekend! « Life is Good as a gitter

[…] front of my very eyes, singing, ‘acting’, and praising God.  I am feverishly planning Tucker’s First Birthday and it seems like yesterday we brought him home from the hospital!  I feel like I am literally […]

let me know what you think...

