Whada Weekend!

22 11 2011

This was a crazy busy exhausting inside and out kinda weekend.  I had the day off on Thursday and made a day to get things done with Mel and the triplets…it was the first Little Warriors Event on Saturday.  It was a much busier day than if I would have been at work, we did errands with all three babies, and Mel was a Buy Buy Baby virgin so we HAD to stop there.  Then we went back to the house and she helped me work on some craft Christmas presents from Tucker.  I was EXHAUSTED after my day ‘off’ (:

On Friday I had a really busy day at work and my niece came over for an unexpected visit, which we LOVED and E, Tucker and I played cars on the kitchen floor for a while, it was so fun.   Tucker got up around 11:40 pm or so on Friday night and played the up down game in his crib and was finally down until Bogey heard a coyote outside and began barking incessantly to which Tucker leaped up in his crib and yelled out Boooooggg Booooogg (which is how he says bogey) it was so funny that I could not resist getting him.  He decided to party for over 2 hours until I decided that it was no longer safe for me to be ‘watching’ him so sleepily and I put him in his crib after a bottle 2 diaper changes and a lot of playing.  He eventually passed out THANK GOD!

On Saturday I woke up tired but running on adrenaline and pure excitement.  Eric hung out with Tucker and fed him breakfast so I could shower and actually get myself ready.  I was out the door and ready to caravan over to the blue school for the first Little Warriors Christmas ornament drive.  Because I know Mel personally I know how agonizing it has been to decide how the money that has been given in Owen’s name should be spent and how she could organize something that would make Owen proud.  She has bounced a number of ideas off of me, and honestly I have loved them all…some more than others, but they have all been great ideas.  But the idea behind Little Warriors is her Picasso masterpiece.  When Mel & Doug made the decision to donate Owen’s organs they knew that his gift would multiply and help out many others.  This is the Picasso behind Little Warriors, to continue to help others in the capacity that they need.  In the book of Matthew, Jesus said, “I was hungry. And you gave me something to eat. I was thirsty. And you gave me something to drink. I was a stranger. And you invited me in. I needed clothes. And you gave them to me. I was sick. And you took care of me. I was in prison. And you came to visit me…’ “Anything you did for one of the least important of these brothers of mine, you did for me.'”  Through each event everyone involved is making a difference and giving to someone who needs it, and being able to see the face of God through their good deed.  Families piled into Summitview Elementary school to work with their kids to make 5 different kinds of crafts for the 1300 low-income seniors and disabled adults that the Interfaith Organization of Waukesha serve.  We called them their grandfriends.  Each ornament went to someone who would most likely not have gotten anything this year.  Also it gave families an opportunity to do something fun and parents to teach their kids about what they are doing…as one blog reader of Mel’s said, “it was a big deal for my 5 year old to make something and leave it there”…what a great way to introduce them to giving and a gateway to show them how blessed they truly are.  Afterwards we went to Costco and grocery shopping with Mel and Jaden.  I had every intention of helping stuff OWENGE merchandise orders, but had to duck out after grocery shopping, I was exhausted and really missed my Tot, I know Mel was exhausted too.  I felt so blessed that I could watch Owen’s good work continue to unfold.  I am sure Mel’s gears are already in overdrive contemplating the next Little Warriors event and I will let you all (all 3 of you that read this) about it too, if you’re in the area come join us!

On Sunday Eric and I both went our separate ways to church…Tucker is what I call a God mutt, he was baptized Lutheran and my family is active in our church and the Gitters are active Catholics at their church, and Eric, Tucker and I worship at both churches.  But this Sunday I had Sunday School, Eric had off and Jim & Bunny were going in the morning, which worked out perfectly.  It’s been a while since I have gotten to listen, really listen to a sermon…Tucker is good in church, but he’s so darn cute you just can’t help but watch him, even if it’s just watching him sleep through the sermon.  and I went by myself and really listened, I swear Pastor Jay knows too much about me, cause his sermons speak right to me!  I know I’m not the only one who thinks this…but the sermon was about doing good deeds for the right reason, become a sheep not a goat, do not do things to gain ‘points’.  Do good with your right hand without letting the left know.  I was just talking to Mel about this very thing on Wednesday.  It’s my weak point…I want encouragement…I often find great pleasure in being praised…I wonder if if that means that I am doing it for the wrong reasons.  I have to pray that I open my heart up and work in the name of the Lord, because it’s the right thing to do and let that be enough.  These were great words to hear this weekend.

Also on Sunday it was my turn to assist with the 2nd grade Sunday School class.  This is a service that I really didn’t want to do, my brother begged me to help him out and split the last open volunteer spot.  I reluctantly agreed, and I am actually really glad that I did, I do really enjoy working with the SoTH youth.  And it is such a different atmosphere than Children’s Church which I have been helping out with for years.  But this Sunday was the first rehearsal for the Youth Children’s Christmas Program.  I am NOT let me reiterate NOT pregnant but was a blubbering emotional mess watching all these kids, who most of them I have seen grow up in front of my very eyes, singing, ‘acting’, and praising God.  I am feverishly planning Tucker’s First Birthday and it seems like yesterday we brought him home from the hospital!  I feel like I am literally going to blink and he’s going to be in preschool walking into the church as a farm animal in this same Children’s Christmas program.   A fellow council member said to me that with the first it goes so fast and the second you’re wondering why they aren’t able to do the things your first can do.  hahaha…i bet that is true!  I rolled home in the late morning for  a snuggle with the dog, played with Tucker got him down for his afternoon nap and went up to work to do a few things that needed to get done.

It was a busy busy weekend indeed.  I slept like a log Sunday night, and Thank goodness it’s a short work week…Happy Thanksgiving Everyone!

Dear Tucker,
 
This weekend was certainly a busy weekend, we were on the go a lot and you were such a good boy.  I love that God has brought so many opportunities into our lives that allow us to give to others.  No matter how we do, with money or time or crafts or smiles we are able to give others so much.  I am a Christian in the making and learning new things everyday just like you, I strive to be a near perfect follower of God but quite often fall short.  But that’s okay God doesn’t expect perfection from us.  But he does expect us to try our best, and your dad and I both feel the same way about you.  And if we expect it from you, then it is only right that we lead by example.  You’re growing up so fast, this weekend you’ve begun to communicate better what you’re wanting with words coupled with actions, and before you know it, you’ll be walking.  Life is changing so fast and getting better by the minute, you are wearing me out faster, but at the end of the day it’s just more adventures to give thanks for.  I love you Tuckey Tot, you’re the best boy ever!
 
mom
Actions

Information

let me know what you think...

