30 Day Giving Challenge – Day 23

23 11 2011

It’s been a pretty tough time for quite a few people in my life.  So today in my giving, I’d like to ask each of you to give a few moments of your day and pray for our family friends.

Brad & Barb Courtney have been friends of our family for a very long time and a few days ago Brad’s brother suddenly passed away returning home from business.  His obituary was beautifully written and my mom said the service was a great celebration of a Godly man.   Courtney, Robert W., Jr. Went to see Jesus on November 18, 2011, at the age of 58. Survived by his wife Anne (nee Bradley), sons John (Siugi), James and Robert III, brother Brad (Barbara), nieces Brooke, Sarah, and Megan, and father Robert (Eunice) Courtney. Preceded in death by his mother Frances.  In lieu of flowers, memorials in Bob’s name can be made to Eastbrook Church-Missions or Campus Crusade for Christ (CRU). Bob was president of Courtney Industrial Battery. He was dedicated to spreading the hope and love of the Lord Jesus Christ around the world. “For it is by grace you have been saved, through faith and this is not of ourselves, it is the gift of God” Ephesians 2:8

I pray that when it is my turn, that people can say that I was dedicated to spreading the hope and love of the Lord.

Another very long time family friend of ours, has recently found out that his cancer has returned, after not too long in remission.  He is a wonderful man, husband, father, grandfather, and friend.

I pray that if cancer or illness strikes me I have the comfort of troves of family and friends to comfort and pray for me.

My friend Mel had a recent blog about Thanksgiving.  “Thanksgiving marks the first of events that I’ll be remembering what it had been like when Owen was alive.  He never had a birthday … there wasn’t a comparison of what it used to be like.  I didn’t feel the weight of memories of what it was like when he was there.  Last year, we were at the NICU early in the morning.  Doug and I arguing over how to install the car seats.  Mom and Dad came over with steak dinners and we watched the parade for my sister and brother who were marching in the Macy’s Day parade.  Owen was here for a Thanksgiving.  He lived through one and frankly, he should still be here for this one. Then Saturday is the 6 month anniversary of his death.  Then in two weeks after that he’ll be gone longer than he was alive.  boom boom boom  Right in a row.  Owen was alive for 196 days.  He’ll be gone for 196 days on 12/12/11.” Mel is learning everyday and is an amazing mom, but could use a few extra prayers this Thanksgiving.

I pray that if tragedy struck my baby I could be as selfless as Mel and Doug have been, and turn to God and know that through Him all things are possible.  And that I could turn my energies to doing good in my child’s name rather than concentrating on everything that I cannot hold in this world.

My friends’ grandpa/dad has been waiting for a major heart surgery for a few weeks.  The surgery is coming up and they will be taking care of him and their grandma/mom during recovery in their house.  They are such wonderful giving people who I am so glad that I have gotten the pleasure of knowing and working on OWENGE events with.

I pray that my and Eric’s children/grandchildren love us enough to help us through difficult times in whatever the capacity calls for.

So in each of these instances there are many blessings, but tears, sorrow, and sadness as well.  Please pray for our friends, so today I give the small platform that I have to ask for prayers in my friends’ time of need.

Thank you and Happy Giving!

Actions

Information

let me know what you think...

