Tucker’s 1st Birthday Party

23 12 2011

Last weekend we gathered with a ton of family and friends to celebrate Tucker’s First Birthday.  For some reason, I have this fascination with pirates, (it’s going to be the theme in Tucker’s big boy room/playroom) and I wanted to do a Pirate themed birthday for him, when I mentioned this to Eric, he shrugged his shoulders and said whatever I want is fine.  I really wanted Eric to be involved and excited about the day so I decided that maybe Pirates wasn’t the right theme, and suggested a golf theme…and I could see a spark of excitement in Eric’s eyes so off we went to plan the party.  First things first, the invitation.  I couldn’t find one that I liked on line, I found a bunch of them (a little from this one and a little from that one) so I decided to design it myself with my CS5 program.  Here is what the finished product looked like:

i was really pleased with how it turned out.  The obvious color scheme was blue (sky) and green (grass) and I chose owenge as the accent color.  So in the mail they went and planning a party for the weekend before Christmas we were prepared for just the 3 of us to be there, but low and behold there were about 65 of our family and friends who came to celebrate with us!

The pictures below tell the story of the day…hover your cursor over the pictures to read the caption for each picture…

All and all it was one of the best days ever! Although my mom is fired from making sure Tucker gets a good nap on busy days like this he held up awesome for only getting about an hour nap.

I’d like to make quite a few VERY SPECIAL thank yous – Thank so much to my parents and in laws – you all helped out so much, bringing food and helping with the costs, watching Tucker, and setting up – you’re all such a blessing to us!  Thank you SOOOOO much to Eric’s Aunt Mary – I have said it before but I honestly don’t know people do big events without an Aunt Mary – she assembled all the gift bags and all the pieces in them, she made food, helped set up, helped clean up and was running around the whole party helping to make sure all went smooth!  She’s an angel to us and we love her so much!  Thank you to to one of my BFF’s Tiffany who came down early for the Packer game and ended up helping me set everything up and brought yummy taco dip and chips & salsa – I really appreciate your help dude!  Thanks to my brother who made a huge pasta salad, my Aunt Barb who made delicious cucumber sandwiches.  Thank you to the Buschke’s who did an OUTSTANDING job on Tucker’s smash cake and the cookies!  (If you want them to do the bakery for your next event contact Mandy at buschkem@yahoo.com) Thank you so much to my sister and Matt – they made food and helped out cleaning up and area ALWAYS there for us!  We love you guys!  Thank you so much to Eric’s friend Mike and his wife Trish who helped us have a great time and also helped with the big haul of cleaning up and doing dishes – it was soo much appreciated – looking forward to the Rose Bowl party!  Another special thank you is to my friend Danielle who came out with her adorable daughter (who is 1 day older than my niece) Tucker loves her daughter and they play so well together – she was a super help with a million little things that day – especially helping me clean up Tucker after his cake (which he looked like he gobbled up the emerald city!)

God has blessed us with the most wonderful year!  I am sad to see it go next week but am so excited that we have another year to grow in our love for eachother and our love for God.  I’ve been asked if we’re doing this every year -cause we set the bar high- and the answer is no.  From this birthday forward it’s just family hanging out until Tucker’s in school and he has a friend’s party.  This party was for us, the adults who have had the pleasure of watching Tucker grow up this year, and celebrating something that unfortunately not everyone gets, but we did.  I celebrate the life and smile of our nearly perfect baby boy.  May next year bring a whole new ocean of blessings and life lessons.

Happy Birthday my little Tuckey-roo – mommy loves you so much!

Dear Tucker,
 
So we made it through your first birthday par-tee!  It seems like you really enjoyed yourself…you were such a good boy considering that you had barely any nap and there were more people gathered around you than there ever have been before.  Everyone enjoyed themselves and had a great time celebrating this last year that God has given us with you.  I am so proud to be your mom, I now understand the overwhelming feeling of pride and smoothing feeling knowing that the best part of me is walking among us – you.  You’re one of my most treasured gifts.  We’ve learned a lot together this year and have grown leaps and bounds in life, love, and most importantly faith.  Your birthday falls so close to Jesus’ birthday – and giving birth to you so close to December 25th has given me a new appreciation for the miracle of Jesus Christ the newborn child born in a manger.  I can’t imagine what Mary was feeling giving birth to God’s son, the Savior who would save the world.  I rock you and think that God’s son was little like you one day 2010 years ago, true human flesh and blood, what an amazing and awing thought.  I am thankful that you and I and all that we love are part of the continuing Story of Christ.  Thank you God for this first year with Tucker James, I pray for many many many more.  I love you so very much Tucker – my little man! 
 
mom
Actions

Information

2 responses

4 04 2012
Expanding « Life is Good as a gitter

[…] and bought some generic Up&Up brand pregnancy tests.  I took one and it was negative.  *WHEW* Tucker just turned 1 and another baby so soon would be a lot to undertake.  A few days later, not shaking this feeling […]

2 03 2012
The grossest mom event ever…well let’s face it yet. « Life is Good as a gitter

[…] to think that this friend has been there to help me clean up Tucker for the second time.  The first one was much more fun, let’s clean up cake again next time! Oh, and we did never make it back […]

let me know what you think...

