Gitter Family Update – 22 weeks preggers and 18 months old!

14 06 2012

I can’t believe that I’m nearing the end of my 22nd week of pregnancy and that Tucker turned 18 months yesterday! It’s all gone by so quickly! I haven’t been very good about keeping up with all that is changing in our lives lately – for the 2 of you that read this but more importantly for me to remember exactly where we, The Gitters, were on June 14, 2012. So here it goes…

Tucker

Our little stinker pot is talking up a storm trying to keep up with his favorite girl in the world, his cousin E – who moved in 2 doors down a few months ago. E is almost three and honestly I don’t think he could love her anymore. Yesterday Jim told me that Tucker wouldn’t let her go through until she gave him a kiss. so, adorable! One of my pregnant epiphanies was creating a Step 2/Little Tikes playground in our backyard for the kids…it has come to life and a few weeks ago we added the Naturally Playful® Front Porch Playhouse by Step2 – I got a good price and free shipping, and I know the resale value on this stuff is great if kept in good condition. They LOVE it, it took a couple of times out in the yard, but they are so funny in there now. We have a little swing and slide set from Eric’s cousins, a see-saw, the Step2 Clubhouse Climber, a picnic table and umbrella, and of course some of Bogey’s toys. They’ve been having a blast between the Step 2 community and the kiddie pools, sprinklers and the water table they love to live outside!

He’s gotten crazy fast on his feet and is just a tank of a kid and will push you out of the way to get where he wants to be. We are working on manners, and waiting your turn – he’s not so good at those yet. We’ve been experimenting with potty training, which he responds well to, we offer and he says yes or no, with yes he races to the bathroom, and when he says no we just let it be. Before bath we sit on the Elmo seat and if he goes, great if not he’s still pretty little. He’s talking a ton – some of it is still pretty gibberish, but he speaks VERY well for an 18 month old boy. A married couple, and friends of mine from high school own their own photography business, McManigal Photography and have taken all of Tucker’s pictures since he was a newborn – Chris was out at my parents house this past week trying to capture Tucker at 18 months…well it was a challenge to say the least. He was constantly moving, didn’t want to stay anywhere, and wouldn’t laugh at my ridiculous singing and dancing (which I paid for with a very sore pelvis the next day!) . He never sits still anymore and keeps me on my feet – but I must say he and Eric looked SOOOOOOOOO handsome! their outfits were the only thing that turned out how I wanted, we will see if the pictures depicted what I saw in my head- thanks for the lil boy tie Auntie Melly! (:

Tucker has no idea what life has in store for him, we’re working on body parts and he knows mouth, nose, 1 eye 2 eyes, hair, ear, cheek, toes, and fingers. We’re learning belly and trying to explain that the baby is in my belly but he just doesn’t care, and when we’ve tried to get him to gently pat the baby he pounds on my belly like bongo drums. So we will have to try a new approach to the upcoming changes in his life. We have a babysitter who comes to the house on a regular basis now, and we couldn’t LOVE her more! She’s fantastic and Tucker adores her. He has no issues with me leaving in the morning when Katherine is there, he calls her Kath-Kath and he is sufficiently tired after a day with her. We count our blessing everyday for having found her.

Here’s a few recent pictures of Tucker – they are not as numerous as they once were…

Baby Girl Gitter:

She’s a growing girl! I had my first u/s a couple weeks ago, and got a call a couple days after from my midwife’s office suggesting that I do a follow up ultrasound because her femur bone is 20% of her head circumference. Apparently the normal range is 17%-19%, my midwife wasn’t too concerned but per the recommendation of the radiologist we made another appointment for 2 weeks later (tomorrow already!) to check again, I was told it could be a couple of factors – it could be that she’ll be tall, which over all she’s much bigger than Tucker at 20 weeks (Tucker was 49.8% and she is 68.9% but Tucker was born in the 98% weight and 99% height), that she was in a strange position and the measurement could have been off. I couldn’t help but google it, and I couldn’t find anything bad about that – and to be quite honest, it wouldn’t change how much we love her or that God chose us to be her parents, she’s ours as long as God will allow it. So tomorrow we’re going in to see her again on the U/S and watch her twist and turn. I have a serious baby bump going on now – I think looks bigger looking down than in the mirror, but I can still fit into all my heels and I’m not a swollen whale, yet. I am considering a maternity belt, this one sits in my back and causes crazy pain when she lies in a certain spot, and she’s a stubborn one to move, totally my girl! But we’re on the downside of the maternity hill, with less time left than we’ve put in – that’s a good feeling.

A few other milestones in our lives – after we got back from the Bahamas and we Photoshopped a few pictures for our memory book Eric, Matt, LeAnne and I decided to do weight watchers, then I found out I was pregnant and stopped paying the monthly dues but Eric, LeAnne, and Matt all downloaded an app called iTrackBites for $2.99 and have had AMAZING success with it. We no longer have to Photoshop their pictures – Eric is down almost 50 lbs and is the skinniest he’s ever been and LeAnne has lost close to 20 lbs and Matt has lost over 20 lbs! I’m so proud of the three of them, they look so great and are fitting into clothes they haven’t wore in years! At my last appointment with my Midwife, her and her nurse were ooogling over how great Eric looked, and I’m not gonna lie – I was annoyed when she asked how I’ll handle it when our weights criss-cross going in opposite directions, not her most nurturing moment – but I still LOVE her!

We’ve been busy busy keeping up with the great weather, doctors appointments, and Eric’s INSANE summer work schedule! We’re surviving and thriving – some days there is more love than others, but at the end of the day we give thanks to God for all that we have and all He’s done for us. Life is Good as a Gitter my friends!

Dear Tucker & Baby Girl Gitter,
We have been so busy and summer is just beginning! Tucker I LOVE where you are right now – you are so inquizitive about everything, and are starting to figure everything in life out, you’re a massive bundle of energy but for every ounce of GO you have in you, there is an equal amount of snuggles, love, and kisses. You light up our lives in a way that only you can…honestly, out of all the little boys in the whole wide world how did we end up getting the VERY best one?? I can’t wait to enjoy more summer with you at this stage. And baby girl – you need to take it a little bit easier on my body that you are currently residing in, your brother was a lazy fetus and I very much enjoyed that, although I am really loving that your dad can be more involved earlier and feel you squirming and doing martial arts in my belly! We will continue to work on not lying on the bottom of my tailbone, and getting to feel you grow in my belly. Be nice to your mommy – she’s too busy to stop and take a breather these days! The days are moving so fast and I’m making a vow to use the expensive camera that I HAD TO HAVE to capture more of our moments this summer! I love you both so very much, thank you for all the memories you’re giving me (:
mom
Actions

Information

let me know what you think...

