Pick a day, any day

8 10 2012

So here I am 39 weeks pregnant. I can’t believe how fast 39 weeks has gone…how much life has changed and how different everything is this time. At my 36 week appointment I was 1 cm dilated and 50% effaced, at 37 weeks still 1cm and 60%(ish Liz said) effaced. My midwife was out last week, so we opted to skip my appointment as things are looking good and I tested negative for Group Strep B this time. So today is 39 weeks on the dot and my appointment is anytime now. I wonder how much or if any progress has been made. Apparently when I make room in Hotel Uterus it’s quite comfy and an eviction notice must be given to the tenants.

This past Saturday we celebrated Eric’s Aunt & Uncle’s 50th wedding anniversary – it was such a spectacular family celebration – 50 years of marriage! Can you imagine being so lucky as to spend 50 years with the one you love? I hope Eric and I can celebrate 50 years – I hope we get to have a big celebration for Jim & Bunny’s and my parents 50th wedding celebration. I was sitting on the cabin step watching Tucker shake his white boy rhythm-less booty to the Singing Hennes’ (brought out of retirement for the celebration) remembering that this is where I was almost 2 years ago 9 days before my due date at LeAnne & Matt’s wedding shaking my groove thing trying to stomp out Tucker, and thinking “How in the world did I have so much energy being as pregnant as I am now?” I think the answer might have something to do with the cutest little 21 month old boy ever…but who really knows (:

A couple of weeks ago my family and I attended a funeral for one of the most wonderful men I’ve ever had the privilege of knowing. He was a great friend of the family, one of my dad’s best friends – their son is one of my brother’s best friends, and he and his wife have been at all our big celebrations from before I was born. His death was tragic and sudden, but his funeral made me want to live my life in joy so that when it’s my turn people talk about me the way they talked about him. A great life lived, cut much too short for each of us on earth, but a legacy of pure joy and love outlives the years he walked with us. At the wake I was talking to his daughter-in-law, (who is pregnant with a boy and we betrothed our bellies) and we gave her one of our Papa’s Cross Pins. I told her I’d send her the story via email.

In April of 1981 my Papa (mom’s dad) decided that he wanted his company to create a 6 foot bronze cross for their Church at his iron & wire works company. My Giea rolled her eyes thinking that there was no way it was going to be approved by council and the pastor…low and behold it was, and prototype was created – in the meantime my Papa was not feeling well and underwent a battery of different tests with inconclusive results, and was scheduled for surgery in August. The weekend before Papa’s surgery the prototype was hung and the spot approved by Papa – the service ended with “Lift High The Cross”. The cross was taken down that week and the construction of the actual cross was begun. The surgery was on August 25th and the doctors opened and closed him up, diagnosed him with late stage pancreatic cancer, and informed my family to “not chase rainbows.” 6 weeks later on Saturday October 10th, 1981 the bronze cross was hung. My Papa died on Sunday, October 11th, 1981. The funeral was held on Wednesday, October 13th, 1981 – exactly six weeks after he sat in church and made the decision that the cross was right. Some of the hymns at his funeral were, “In the Cross of Christ I Glory,” “Beneath the Cross of Jesus,” and the service ended with “LIFT HIGH THE CROSS.”

I was born just a few months after my Papa died, I never got to meet him…but you know what? I, my sister and my cousins have never felt like we didn’t know him, he’s been such a staple of our lives even in death. Together our family healed under this beautiful cross. My Giea says, “This cross is a beautiful symbol of life after death has become the logo for our family and our church and when visitors attend they get to share in the story of the CROSS. ” I think this is the week, 31 years later the Lord will make a full circle of life after death in our family. So I think she’s coming this week. If I had to pick a day any day I’d say Wednesday. I’m wearing my cross pin and just waiting. God’s will. Sadly I have no control, but that’s okay cause it’s Gods control that matters.

Fingers crossed she’ll be here soon. It’s our turn to go in for my 39 week check up.

Patty

Actions

Information

let me know what you think...

